Oregon Officially Recognizes Indigenous Peoples’ Day


Salem, OR — Today marked the first official recognition of October 11 as Indigenous Peoples’ Day in Oregon, marking a long overdue step forward in acknowledging the historical and cultural heritage of Oregon’s Indigenous, Tribal and Native peoples. House Bill 2526—a bill introduced in 2021 by the Oregon Legislature’s only Indigenous lawmakers, Representatives Tawna Sanchez and Teresa Alonso-Leon—ensures the state will now recognize the second Monday of each October as Indigenous Peoples’ Day.

Indigenous, Tribal, and Native peoples have been stewards of Oregon’s forests, fish, wildlife, lands, and waters since time immemorial. The official recognition of Indigenous Peoples’ Day  recognizes the state’s continuing partnership with Oregon’s sovereign Tribal governments to continue working together towards a more just and equitable future. It’s also a day to recognize the harm that has been caused by racism, colonialism and past federal policies.

“Today is long overdue. I am proud that we can officially recognize today as Indigenous Peoples’ Day in Oregon,” said Governor Kate Brown.

I’d like to thank Reps. Sanchez and Alonso Leon who introduced the bill this session recognizing this important day, and everyone who worked so hard to pass the bill to make today a reality.

Governor Kate Brown

“Oregon’s historical treatment of Indigenous people is stained by racism, discrimination, forced removal, and violence. We cannot change that past––but we can work together to dismantle the legacies of colonialism and racism just as they were built, brick by brick.”

Today, we pay our respects to the nine federally recognized Tribes in Oregon, and honor all the Indigenous peoples who have long called these sacred lands their home. No matter where you are in Oregon, you are on Indigenous land.

Oregon has many different Indigenous communities including nine federally recognized tribes: Burns Paiute of Harney County; Confederated Tribes of Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians; Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde; Confederated Tribes of Siletz; Confederated Tribes of Umatilla Reservation; Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs; Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Indians; Coquille Indian Tribe; and Klamath Tribes.

To acknowledge where you live, work and play, you can find a map of Oregon’s indigenous communities here.

About Author

Sarah Dean is the Press and Public Engagement Coordinator with the Governor's Communications Office.

Comments are closed.